Most asked questions!

20 Feb

Lately I’ve been getting a lot of calls from parents, asking similar questions. The most popular question is “How much do you charge?” then after that “Why is the cost so high?!”

So I decide to try to explain to you why…

Playing the piano is not a skill that everyone has. To have the experience and ability to teach is a skill that even fewer people have. As a pianist it took me 13 years of learning and practising to get to this point, and I’m still learning! In addition to paying for a teacher’s time, you are also paying for their skills and experience. I remember my first piano lesson cost me 650 baht/hour and that was 10 years ago. My second piano teacher (Thongsuan Isarangkun na ayuthaya) who is one of the best pianist in Thailand is about 1500 baht/hour (also about 10 years ago) . The price can go up to 3000 bath/hour! And don’t let me start on University, even for me the price is unbelievable!! But I love piano and music and you know what they said “Education is an investment”

So you can say that the uniqueness of a teacher’s skill raises the price.

Teaching piano is not just about coming to listen to students bang on the keys and correcting them. It can take up almost a week to plan activities, and finding the best method to suit the student. Each students are different so one thing that work with another may not work with the other. I’ve met teachers who are so dedicate to teaching and some who are just like “Whatever! I’m just earning some extra money.”

I can assure you that in one hour of piano lesson the students learn so much more than just piano, and they might not even notice it. Studies have shown that music helps improve mathematics and language skill, memory and so much more!

Please avoid the temptation to shop around for the cheapest teacher, you probably will get what you pay for.

3 Responses to “Most asked questions!”

  1. Pure Musician 21/02/2013 at 1:46 AM #

    I can’t agree more!… and it’s kinda sad that music teacher have to explain these things.

    • Lynn Gordon 21/02/2013 at 9:20 AM #

      At first I thought that this only happen to me, until I go online and read other people’s blog. Music education is as important as other education!

  2. Boardwalk empire online 26/02/2013 at 9:45 AM #

    couldnt agree more

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

