Life as a piano teacher ep. 1 Introduction

22 Apr

Piano teacher must be one of the mysterious career ever! Every time someone ask me about my career they seem to have no idea of what exactly I do or they have the strangest idea ever! Of course the most common question is what is your full time job? Then there are other questions like, you need training to be a piano teacher? It must be a dream job to work only on weekend?! Why do I need a piano at home? I don’t mean to be rude or anything but we (piano teachers) need to educate the not so musical people out there!!!

I don’t know if this will help anyone, but I just want to give whoever read this an inside look of my life as a piano teacher in Bangkok.

I’ve been teaching for more than 7 years now. It’s funny to think about my first day teaching. I was about 17-18 years old when I got an offer to teach at the local music school, and of course I said yes! I only teach on Saturday, on my first day I got 5 students and by the third week I got 10 students! That’s 10 hours of nonstop teaching from 9am.- 7pm. No lunch break! I had no idea what was going on, I never make a lesson plan. I just go with the flow and what the lesson book tells me to do. I enjoyed it!

Back then I didn’t care much about music education or teaching method. I never give piano that much thought. I just like doing it. As the years go by I don’t understand why my students doesn’t enjoy music. Why some of my students HATE piano lesson! I started to see all the flaws in different method books, and all the things that they miss to mention.

This is about the time I started teaching in a new school. So new school, new students, new goal! I’d be delighted if one of my student turn out to be a pianist or a piano teacher or anything to do with music. But what I want for my students is now simply this,

Music should be something that everyone can understand enjoy and feel it in your body!
Music is an outlet for your imagination, a way to express something that you can’t explain with words

2 Responses to “Life as a piano teacher ep. 1 Introduction”

  1. SeaChangeCoachMhairi (@CoachMhairi) 22/04/2013 at 3:20 PM #

    It’s really exciting to hear about your development as a piano teacher, thank you.
    As a Life & Business Coach, I am always thinking about what can make sessions most effective for my Clients… but it wasn’t always so! When I was doing my training, I was thinking about how I came across, LOL. Much more effective to be thinking about the Client or Pupil :-)
    What were some of the things you learned about being a Piano Teacher?

    • Lynn Gordon 22/04/2013 at 4:37 PM #

      I’m glad you like it! There are so many things I’ve learned! I’ll put it in the post next week. :)

      My concert is in 3 weeks! I wish you could come. :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

